Other Sources of Gluten

While there are the obvious foods (see What Can’t I Eat) containing wheat, barley & rye, such as breads, baked goods, pasta, pizza, & beer there are also many other foods and products which may also contain gluten.  These include the following:

–          Alcohol (see Alcohol)
–          Baking powder
–          Baking sprays (some contain flour)
–          Beans (natural OK, but watch for “packaged” –  some Goya bagged beans                       indicate they may contain wheat)
–          Beverages (Juice, Tea, Chocolate drinks,
–          Blue Cheese (mold may contain wheat) (see “Truth or Myth”)
–          Bouillon (cubes, etc.)
–          Brown Rice Syrup (may contain barley)
–          Canned fruits, soups, vegetables & beans
–          Candy (candy/gum may be dusted with flour)
–          Carob Soy Flour (possible contamination by other grains)
–          Cereal (containing wheat and/or barley malt)
–          Cheese (if processed)
–          Chocolate milk (may contain malt)
–          Coffee (plain is OK, but check if flavored, also ask at your favorite coffee shop if they add
malt containing powders)
–          Communion Wafers (see “Truth or Myth“)
–          Condiments (ketchup, mustard, jams & jellies)
–          Cosmetics (lipstick, lipbalm)
–          Deli Meats
–          Diet Milkshakes
–          Dog Food (don’t laugh .. leftovers can end up on hands & in sink)
–          Eggs (fresh are fine, but some restaurants use wheat flour as a filler in egg dishes)
–          Energy Bars
–          Fillers (in meats)
–          Flavors and natural flavorings (may contain barley malt)
–          French Fries (coating may contain wheat flour, need to ask if they cooked in the same oil as
                  gluten-coated foods)
–          Frostings
–          Frozen vegetables in sauce
–          Frozen/packaged hamburgers
–          Fruit (Dried & Canned) – (can be dusted with wheat flour, or syrup may contain gluten)
–          Gravies
–          Gum (may be dusted with flour)
–          Ice-Cream (may contain cookie dough)
–          Imitation Seafood (prepared sushi or other)
–          Lipstick/Lipbalm (see Truth or Myth)
–          Maltose
–          Malt Vinegars
–          Marinades, Dressings, Gravies
–          Meat (marinated, self-basting, cured bacon, lunch meat, hot dogs, sausage, chorizo, processed/packaged)
–          Medication (see Medication)
–          Miso (may contain barley)
–          Mouthwash
–          Mustard powder
–          Natural juices (often found in meat products)
–          Non-dairy creamers
–          Non-stick cooking sprays (some contain wheat FLOUR)
–          Nuts (plain are fine, but some with added flavor may contain gluten)
–          Packaged Processed Food & Snacks (a wide variety of items contain gluten, many “flavored” chips, etc.
                  use malt)
–          Peanut Butter
–          Pie Fillings
–          Playdough (yes, the children’s’ molding clay, may get on hands and then into mouth)
–          Rice (seasoned, flavored packages – plain is ok) 
–          Salad Dressings
–          Seasonings (anti-caking agent may be used, though usually not made of wheat)
–          Shampoo & other body lotions
–          Smoke flavoring
–          Spices (single spices are ok, call manufacturer if “mixed spice”)
–          Soup bases, broths and stocks
–          Soy Sauce (& other asian sauces – Shoyu, Oyster, Hoisin)
–          Soy (or Rice) Milk (the majority do not contain gluten, but some do)
–          Stuffings, Breading & Dressings
–          Supplements (herbal, vitamins and mineral)
–          Tea  (some teas, especially herbal) contain barley/malt)
–          Tamari, Teriyaki Sauce
–          Thickeners (Roux)
–          Toothpaste (see Truth or Myth)
–          Trail Mix (dried fruit may be dusted with flour & may contain wheat crackers)
Points to Remember:

* Though the Food Allergen Labeling and Consumer Protection Act (FALCPA) identifies Wheat as one of the top 8 allergens, neither barley or rye are included. You will still need to determine if these two are included as an ingredient.

* (This refers to Gluten-Free Labeling only) Gluten refers to proteins that occur naturally in wheat, rye, barley and cross-bred hybrids of these grains.  The August 2013 FDA ruling states that in order for a product to be labeled “gluten-free”, it cannot contain any of the “glutens” mentioned above.  Therefore, if either wheat, rye, barley or any crossbred hybrids of these grains are included in the product, it should be noted on the ingredients’ label, if the product is labeled gluten-free.  Companies have up until August 2014 to comply with this labeling. (See “Help with Label Reading for more info on this topic.) The USDA (controls meats, poultry, fish, eggs) does not follow the same labeling rules as the FDA.  Be a good label reader & call the manufacturer to check on any questionable ingredients!  See Help with Label Reading

Also Review Questionable Ingredients at the end of “What Can’t I Eat”